National Council for Animal Protection Working Together to Promote

the Well-Being of All Animals

Call for Nominations

The 2015 NCAP Belton Mouras Grassroots Leadership Award


The National Council for Animal Protection (NCAP) announces the call for nominations for the 2015 Belton Mouras Grassroots Leadership Award, recognizing exceptional contributions to animal protection. The award will be presented to an individual who demonstrates leadership; advances respect, compassion and justice for animals; and whose actions exemplify the Code of Ethics of NCAP.

The Executive Board of the National Council for Animal Protection (NCAP) oversees the annual award cycle.

How to Submit a Nomination

Nominations should be brief and follow this format:

I. Name of nominating organization and contact information
II. Name of candidate and affiliation, if any
III. Highlight specific effort, activity, innovation or success (either completed or ongoing) to be honored and its realized or potential impact on animals
IV. Description of the role played by the candidate in this activity and her/his leadership qualities that promise continued progress in the future
V. Description of how this nominee’s actions reflect the values of NCAP’s Code of Ethics
VI. Background/supplementary documents (e.g., news coverage and/or other public awareness, legislation passed, animals rescued, other)
VII. Information concerning any affiliation or relationship between the nominating organization and its nominee.

Eligible activities include, but are not limited to:

  • Fostering cooperation among animal advocates and organizations
  • Increasing awareness of the plight of specific animals
  • Promoting credible scholarship of animal issues
  • Rescue efforts on behalf of animals in need
  • Dissemination of a compelling educational message
  • Effective legal or legislative advocacy on behalf of animals
  • Effecting responsible corporate policies on behalf of animals

Nominations for the 2015 Belton Mouras Grassroots Leadership Award should be sent electronically to

DEADLINE for nominations is February 6, 2015. has been extended to February 9, 2015!

Selection will be made by the NCAP Executive Board on basis of the following criteria:

  • Demonstration of leadership
  • Advancement of respect, compassion, and justice for animals
  • Conduct exemplifies the Code of Ethics of NCAP.

Award Presentation

The Awardee will be invited, expenses paid, to attend the annual meeting of NCAP/Summit for the Animals on March 29, 2015 in New Orleans, LA and presented with a $500 prize.

This award program was initiated by NCAP in 2012. The Awardee that year was Laura Bonar, Program Director of Animal Protection of New Mexico, for her advocacy on behalf of chimpanzees used in research. The 2014 award recipient was Marc Johnson, founder and CEO of Foster Parrots, for his efforts in education about and rescue of parrots and other wildlife.